Menu

MBSR (Mindfulness-Based Stress Reduction)

Learn practical ways to manage stress

Mindfulness-Based Stress Reduction (MBSR) is for individuals experiencing stress resulting from chronic physical and psychological conditions.

This 8-week psycho-educational group program helps develop capacity for greater calm and teaches practical skills to manage stress. The majority of MBSR program participants report lasting decreases in psychological and physical symptoms exacerbated by chronic stress. Research has demonstrated improved behavioural outcomes including better sleep, lower blood pressure, and fewer worries.

Participants Will Learn
To develop a different relationship to stress resulting from chronic physical and psychological conditions.

Please note that the MBSR program includes mindful movement exercises with options to modify movements and poses for comfort and safety.

Who Should Attend
Individuals suffering from chronic stress, illness and pain, who wish to increase their overall health and wellbeing. See guidelines on whether MBSR or MBCT is right for you.

Timing
8 weekly sessions of 2.5 hours each plus Orientation & Interview (9 weeks, 23 hours)

Most third-party insurance plans cover the cost of this program.
Learn more, click here.

Upcoming Courses

8-Week MBSR 16-109-04

Start: Monday, September 19, 2016
Facilitator(s): Gwen Morgan MSW RSW & Michael Apollo

8-Week MBSR 16-109-06

Start: Wednesday, November 2, 2016
Facilitator(s): Gwen Morgan MSW RSW & Allison McLay BA DCS RP

8-Week MBSR 16-109-07

Start: Sunday, November 13, 2016
Facilitator(s): Melissa Nigrini M.Ed.

8-Week MBSR 16-109-05

Start: Thursday, October 20, 2016
Facilitator(s): Patricia Rockman MD CCFP FCFP & Heidi Bornstein

8-Week MBSR 17-109-01

Start: Wednesday, January 25, 2017
Facilitator(s): Gwen Morgan MSW RSW

8-Week MBSR 17-109-02

Start: Saturday, February 25, 2017
Facilitator(s): Evan Collins MD FRCPC & Elaine Smookler B.Mus. RP

8-Week MBSR 17-109-03

Start: Thursday, March 30, 2017
Facilitator(s): Patricia Rockman MD CCFP FCFP & Elaine Orsini BA ECE OTC

8-Week MBSR 17-109-05

Start: Wednesday, May 24, 2017
Facilitator(s): Joanna Jarecki MD & Melissa Nigrini M.Ed

8-Week MBSR 17-109-07

Start: Wednesday, July 12, 2017
Facilitator(s): Alison McLay DCS RP & Elaine Orsini ECE OTC

8-Week MBSR 17-109-06

Start: Friday, June 23, 2017
Facilitator(s): Gwen Morgan MSW RSW

8-Week MBSR 17-109-09

Start: Friday, September 15, 2017
Facilitator(s): Michael Apollo RP

8-Week MBSR 17-109-11

Start: Wednesday, November 29, 2017
Facilitator(s): Evan Collins MD FRCPC & Amanda Guthrie ND

8-Week MBSR 18-109-03

Start: Tuesday, May 1, 2018
Facilitator(s): Patricia Rockman MD CCFP FCFP & Allison McLay DCS RP

8-Week MBSR in GUELPH 17-109-12

Start: Monday, October 16, 2017
Facilitator(s): Blakie Sahay OT Reg. (Ont.)

8-Week MBSR 18-109-01

Start: Wednesday, January 17, 2018
Facilitator(s): Gwen Morgan MSW RSW

8-Week MBSR 18-109-02

Start: Saturday, March 24, 2018
Facilitator(s): Elaine Orsini RP & Jeremy Finkelstein

8-Week MBSR in Guelph 18-109-04

Start: Wednesday, February 7, 2018
Facilitator(s): Blakie Sahay OT Reg. (Ont.)

8-Week MBSR (FULL – waitlist) 18-109-07

Start: Tuesday, June 26, 2018
Facilitator(s): Allison McLay DCS RP & Trish Sullivan

8-Week MBSR 18-109-08

Start: Thursday, August 16, 2018
Facilitator(s): Gwen Morgan MSW RSW & Laurie Arron MSc JD

8-Week MBSR 18-109-09

Start: Monday, September 17, 2018
Facilitator(s): Melissa Nigrini RP & Jeremy Finkelstein

8-Week MBSR 18-109-11

Start: Sunday, October 28, 2018
Facilitator(s): Gwen Morgan MSW RSW

8-Week MBSR in Guelph 18-109-06

Start: Wednesday, July 4, 2018
Facilitator(s): Andrea Alvarez MD & Blakie Sahay OT Reg. (Ont.)

8-Week MBSR in North Toronto 18-109-10

Start: Saturday, November 10, 2018
Facilitator(s): Rose Mina Munjee

8-Week MBSR 18-109-14

Start: Wednesday, December 5, 2018
Facilitator(s): Amanda Guthrie ND RP

8-Week MBSR 18-109-13

Start: Tuesday, October 16, 2018
Facilitator(s): Patricia Rockman MD CCFP FCFP & Elaine Orsini RP